2012 Garden Competition

The Hills District Garden Competition is open to all residents of Arana Hills, Everton Hills, Ferny Hills and Bunya.

The 2012 Hills District and Bunya Garden Competition Committee is chaired by Norma Bowen.  New and recycled committee members are always welcome - please email us at gardencomp@fhpa.com.au if you are able to assist in any way.

2012 Grand Champion - Smith Garden, Ferny Hills


The categories for this year's competition were:

The Edible Garden category includes vegetable gardens, herb gardens and fruit trees.

Residents could only enter their front garden OR their back garden OR both, as they are each in a different prize category. Both the front and back gardens must have been entered to be eligible for the Residential prize category.

The 2012 judges were Noel & Heather Prior, who are both members of the Australian Horticultural Judges Association.  Noel is also President of the South East Qld Branch of the Judges Association.

Links to selected gardening websites:
http://www.abc.net.au/gardening   Gardening Australia
http://www.calyx.com.au               Qld Garden Competitions
http://www.annettemcfarlane.com  Annette McFarlane, Grovely TAFE
http://www.colincampbellsgarden.com.au  Colin Campbell's Garden Show
http://www.opengarden.org.au   Open Garden Scheme


Photos of all gardens entered will be published as soon as possible after judging. Following these links to specific suburbs:

Arana Hills Gardens

Everton Hills Gardens

Ferny Hills Gardens

Bunya Gardens

The Hills District and Bunya Garden Competition wish to recognise the generosity and support of our sponsors.  Residents can show their appreciation by supporting these sponsors.

Our major sponsors are:

Steve Jones Hardware and Landscape

Nova Gardens Nursery

Click here for a full list of the 2012 sponsors.

Arana Hills Gardens

Coleman Garden - Second, Edible Gardens

Bullimore Garden - Second, Backyard Garden

Langdon Garden - Third, Edible Gardens

Phillips Garden

Chilcott Garden - First, Edible Gardens

Howie Garden - Second, Permanent Gardens

Horton Garden - Meritorious Garden

Steer Garden - First, Permanent Gardens


Guy Garden - Meritorious Garden

Everton Hills Gardens

Hudson Garden - First, Front Yard Gardens

Stapleton Garden - First, Waterwise Gardens

Hossinger Garden - First, New Entry Gardens

Murphy Garden - Meritorious Garden


Ferny Hills Gardens

Smith Garden - Grand Champion, Second,Waterwise Gardens

Stanton Garden - Third, Permanent Gardens

Ellis Garden - First, Backyard Gardens

Ellerman Garden - Meritorious Garden

Creagh Garden - President's Trophy; First, Native Gardens

Lowien Garden

Bunya Gardens

Wolff Garden - Second, Acreage Gardens; Second, New Entry Gardens

Sherrard Garden - Second, Front Yard Garden

Buterin Garden - First, Acreage Gardens

Geddes Garden - Third, Acreage Gardens